Make 2018 Your Best Year Yet!

2018

It’s tempting to fall in with the masses and set New Year resolutions. I have never been one for resolutions. Instead, I prefer GOALS. Goals have a purpose behind them. And, I don’t think goals have to be BIG GOALS. Why not set smaller goals that build up and amount to something more, like filling a jar with pebbles. Eventually, you’ll fill the jar.

So, here is my list of suggestions from my years of coaching and my own self-improvement. Pick just one, two, or be bold and choose 5! This time next year, you’ll be filled with satisfaction at what you’ve achieved.

  1. Gratitude journal. You have probably heard about these recently. I love this practice. Each night, before I go to sleep, I take a moment to write down 3 things I’m grateful for. Even through extraordinarily tough times this year, I managed to be grateful for what I had. It helps you focus on the abundance in your life. Remember, what you focus on grows. If you focus on the negative, you will bring more negative to your life. Having a gratitude journal turns your attention to the positive and helps it grow.
  2. Take up a hobby that’s always intrigued you. What is that hobby that’s you’ve always thought you’d enjoy learning one day? Mine is glassblowing. Take a class. See if you like it. There is nothing like letting the creative juices flow to help you feel renewed after a tough day at the office.
  1. Take a class related to your work to enhance you knowledge and skills. Many of us want to progress in our career. Often, that requires some additional learning. As a learning junkie myself, I can’t help but find new things to learn. For others, you need to put some effort forth. And, don’t wait for your employer to offer something. It’s YOUR career. YOU own it, so make a commitment to yourself and learn something new!
  2. Plan a long weekend twice a year. So many people tell me they are too busy to take a vacation. I’ve never been that person, and not quite sure I buy that, but everyone can take a few days away from the office. And don’t take them at home. You’ll be too tempted to get all your chores done. No, plan a short trip out of town. It might just be an hour drive away, or a 2 hour plane trip, but you’ll be away from home and able to rejuvenate. And the bonus? Three days away will feel like 7! You need downtime away from all the cares of the world. If you can’t fit in a full week, do yourself, your family and your job performance a favor and invest in some serious time away.
  3. Make a vision board. This is one of my favorite things. As stated above, what you focus on grows. I keep a vision board in my office, in plain view. On it, I write goals, big audacious goals, along with statements of affirmation. Some people like to include photos. Make it your own and post it somewhere you can see it frequently.
  4. Read a book a month. Everything you want to learn in life is available in a book. Prefer audio books? Well, that’s fine. I like the feel of a real book in my hands. And, you’ve heard how people like Warren Buffett and Bill Gates devour books. Some believe it’s the secret to success. As I said, I love to learn, so I always keep a pile of books ready to work my way through. Maybe a book a month is aggressive for you. Ok, make it 6 books a year, whatever works for you. Just make it a stretch and do it.

I’m sure you can find other simple goals you can set for yourself. By making several smaller goals, you’ll be able to keep up with them, and in the end, you’ll be better off for it. And, you’ll be proud that you were able to stick with it for the entire year!

What’s your favorite goal to set? Let me know what you decided to do, and then next December, let me know how you did!

My mission is to see you live the life you desire. Through professional coaching, job search strategies and retirement planning, I guide you to develop success strategies to get you where YOU want to be. http://www.colecoach.com

About Rainshower Quilts

I was raised in New England, from a long line of New England settlers, so it runs deep in my blood and my identity. However, in 1983, a promotion took me to Seattle where I found my soul! I've gone back and forth from the Pacific NW to the East Coast over the years since, but have finally landed back in my beloved Pacific NW and have retired to live my dream...well almost. A few key elements are still missing, but I'm a quilter, so when life give me scraps, I make quilts!
This entry was posted in achievement, career, challenges, change, coaching, colecoach, development, dreams, education, goals, gratitude, growth, job hunt, leaps of faith, Learning, life, new year, new year goals, new year resolutions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment