It’s Not a Job, It’s Who I Am

You know that question you get asked when introduced to new people. “What line of work are you in?” It should be an easy question to answer, right? I kind of giggle internally when asked because I sometimes feel like I don’t work at all.  It’s not because I’m not earning an income or doing something useful though. It’s because what I do is simply who I am. How many people can say that? Precious few I should think.

Those who have been reading for the past two years, have been on this journey with me. It’s been a journey of self-discovery, of emotional challenges, a physical journey that’s brought me back to Seattle. I’ve evolved through this process and it’s been a wonderful adventure! I’m now where I want to be, with the people I want to be with (except for the distance from family), doing what I love to do.

What I do is help people. I help them find the life they want to lead. I want everyone to experience this same growth and happiness that I have found. Occasionally, I hear from someone who’s known me or my journey and they share how my journey inspired them to take one of their own. I am so humbled by knowing that my own life has inspired others to change theirs. I’ve realized that I’ve been coaching people for years, some formally, but most simply by being who I am, caring for others, and seeming to be one of those people others turn to. Once I realized this, I made coaching my career. For years, I’ve been in the learning and development field, helping organizations build skills and leadership capacity in their employees. I still do this work and it gives me great joy.

But this new work with one-on-one coaching is so special! From the person stuck in a job they hate, to someone transitioning to a new job, to someone who simply doesn’t know what she wants to do for the rest of her career. I’ve been there. I know what it’s like to be all of these people. So, when they come to me for coaching to help them through these difficult times, I’m able to join them where they are emotionally. I empathize. And, I get so excited for them when their goals are reached!

Not sure where I want to end with this blog, but perhaps it’s this. I LOVE what I do because it is who I am. I’m a helper, a nurturer and I want to see everyone have this same joy from their work that I have in mine. So, if you’re feeling like you’re stuck, seek out a career coach. All communities have them, and most of us also work remotely using the phone or Skype. Don’t wait. Achieve the life you want now!

#colecoach, #dreamitbelieveitachieveit

http://www.colecoach.com

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

