Approaching Two Years of My New Life!

cropped-seattle

I was looking through my history on Facebook over the weekend. You know that app that shows you your history on each day? Well, two years ago yesterday was my last day of work before leaving Washington, DC to return to Seattle. I remember the feeling that night. I had chosen to walk away from my job. I didn’t know what was ahead, but I knew it was to be my new life. I’m not sure I ever felt afraid, but it definitely felt strange. That didn’t last long.

In those remaining two weeks, I furiously worked to shed half my belongings. It’s not easy to sell perfectly good furniture on craigslist for anything that comes close to a reasonable price. So, rather than play hardball, I sold my things for less than I wanted. But the object was to shed things and have less to take with me. I did minor repairs around the house, took carload after carload of things to Goodwill and the Humane Society Thrift Store. Those were crazy days, working from sun up to sun down. I went to bed every night exhausted and sore. But it was all worth it.

Here I sit, nearly two years later in the life I dreamed of living. My coaching business is taking off and I get to help people find new jobs, build their careers and organizations build leadership capacity! I live in a beautiful condo on the water with unobstructed views West, able to enjoy startlingly beautiful sunsets every night, and I have a wonderful man in my life. There literally is nothing left for me to want!

I believe that life presents what you need when you need it. Two years ago, I had a vision of what I wanted my life to be. I could literally see my new life. With that vision and a strong pull, I made it happen. I meet people all the time who envy my ability to have done what I’ve done. It makes me wonder why I could do it and why they can’t. I’m not Superwoman. I don’t have anything extraordinary about me. I simply knew what had to be and would rather risk making a mistake than regret for the rest of my life. I think this has also made me a better coach. I know what it takes to make life-changing decisions and see them through to reality. I want everyone to experience the same thing. So, when I have a coachee who wants to leave the corporate world and launch their own business or work for a non-profit, I get really excited. In fact, I get excited anytime anyone comes to me for help in changing their lives. I believe it’s what I’m meant to do.

So, on this nearly 2nd anniversary of my new life, I am grateful. Grateful for whatever it took for me to do it, grateful for the many people who supported me in many ways along the way, and grateful that it has all unfolded just as it has.

andrea@colecoach.com

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

