Go Ahead, Dream it and Make it Come True

Do you have a dream, a job/life/relationship that has eluded you so far in your life? I know the feeling. I’ve been sharing my journey for the past 18 months, and what a journey it’s been.  Little did I know, when I embarked on this journey, how many people it would impact. I started this blog as a means of keeping friends up to date as I left Washington, DC to begin my new life back in Seattle, WA. It was a travel blog. But something happened along the way. People started saying things like “I need to find my Seattle.”  Or “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.”  Or, “You’re so brave to leave one life behind and follow your dreams.” I guess all of those are true, but honestly, I simply felt I had no other choice. NOT being in Seattle was far worse than any other fate I could imagine.

It wasn’t an easy road. There were months of self-doubt, anxiety, hopelessness and fear. I was paralyzed many times along the way. But with the support of several really amazing friends who never lost faith in me, I kept soldiering on. Step by step, day by day, I kept moving forward even when it didn’t feel like forward progress.  And here I am, 18 months later, living the very life I’d imagined for myself. I pinch myself daily, as I work to help others achieve their dreams, walk along the waterfront with amazing views of “my city”, and never once do I take it for granted. It was hard work and I did it. I earned this. THIS is the life I should be living.

For years, I fought it. I knew I wanted to be in Seattle, but I chased after the wrong relationships, the wrong jobs, the wrong life. Once I gave in to my intuition (which admittedly is quite strong), all the right things fell into place. A friend offered a landing place for me in Seattle, several consulting opportunities appeared as if from thin air, a friend was available to drive cross country with me, and the list goes on. Yes, once I made the mental commitment to follow my heart, it all just happened.

I work in leadership development and job coaching and it’s amazing how many people I meet who find a connection to my story. They’re searching, or stagnated, or fearful. But they all have dreams, and somehow find solace or inspiration in my story. I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished, but I’m even more humbled that my simple story inspires others to reach for their dreams. My advice: stop fighting it. Give in and live a truly remarkable life, one of YOUR choosing.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

