The Ups and Downs of a Job Search

I work every day with people seeking new employment. Some by choice, some not. Either way, it’s a long, emotional, trying experience. I’ve been there, and I was lucky to have a coach to guide me along. I strive to be that beacon of light to others.

Some time ago, one of my clients came to me, deflated that her search wasn’t yielding any results. She’d done the right things: updated her resume, optimized her LinkedIn profile, developed a strategy of companies and contacts, and even gotten in the door for interviews. But, to no avail. Here it was, months later, and her work was for naught.

I told her to hang in there. Easy for me to say, I realize. However, I do believe the right job will be there at the right time. I fought that reasoning for so many years – in my relationships, in my life, in my job search. When I trusted ‘the universe’ (or whatever you choose to call it), everything fell into place. It’s not simply luck or the universe, though. You have to do the work. Research, plan, strategize and keep going.

Something my coach taught me was to do something, anything every day. Rather than look down the road to that elusive job, do what I could that day, at that moment to take a baby step forward. It feels good. That dream job won’t come knocking on your door. You have to get out there and find it.

I think about these good people over the holidays. It’s a tough time of year in the best of circumstances. Add the job hunt to the mix, and it can double in difficulty. But, here’s a thought. While you’re socializing with family and friends, use that opportunity to talk to people about your search. Ask, politely, if you could meet with them in a few weeks to discuss your strategy. People want to help, but they can’t unless you ask. So ask. You might be surprised that so many people are willing to help.

To all those job seekers out there – hang in there, do the work. It WILL pay off eventually. I’ve been there. I know.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

