Find your Calling

Everyone would like to find that one thing they were meant to do, or the thing they are best at. Very few are able to reach that point. Even fewer fall into it. But think about the impact on all of us as individuals, and the world as a whole, if everyone was doing the work they were best at, that gave them the greatest satisfaction.

249195_10200747669949845_1547345143_n

I’ve been on this circuitous professional journey, from accountant, to technical project manager, to trainer, and now I divide my work between leadership development coaching and career coaching. The latter has been a total surprise. Well, maybe not TOTAL, but not something I ever pursued intentionally. I’ve long had an intense desire and urge to help individuals. I’d be at the bank and start talking to the young account representative about his career goals. I’ve coached individuals working with a career coach colleague on their desire to move into the Learning and Development space. Yes, it’s been there. I just never put the name to it.

I was recently sharing a story about a client who had resisted coming to me for help. We spoke on the phone and he agreed to come and work with me. We spent some time working on his resume and his LinkedIn profile. Within one week, he had no fewer than 10 employers reach out to him to schedule interviews! He set up a meeting with me to share this news and we were both almost giddy with excitement. After telling the story, my friend turned to me and said, “Andrea, you’ve found your calling”. I hadn’t seen it, and yet, there it was. I feel fulfilled in this work, helpful to others, making a difference. And at the end of the day, that’s all I wish for my life. I’ve long said all I want as an epitaph is “She made a difference”.

So, along with all the other gifts that have come my way on this journey of self discovery, risk and faith, I have managed to find the work I am meant to do. Coaching teams to perform better, coaching individuals to become better leaders, and coaching individuals to the job of their dreams. Yes, I’d say I have a fulfilling life!

What journey have you been on? What risk are you afraid to take? Let me know. Let’s talk. I’m happy to help. As my tagline says, Dream it, believe it, achieve it!

DSC_0165-1

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, avocation, career, change, connecting, dreams, faith, growth, leaps of faith, New beginnings, passion, patience, Uncategorized, your calling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Find your Calling

  1. It’s always nice to hear about someone who has found their true calling! Finding out what you are meant to do in life can be difficult, but incredibly rewarding once you find it.
    http://www.interviewknowledge.com

    • Andrea C says:

      It sure is! The road has been a difficult one, but I wouldn’t change a thing. Sharing it with others has been one of the greatest gifts of my life. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

