Birthday gratitude

unnamedCA108UJP

Today is my birthday. Another year, another chance to reflect. I still feel 30 most days with my life ahead of me, still waiting to be explored. People say I look much younger than my years and I know a good portion of that is good genes passed down from 14 generations of hearty souls who arrived on our country’s shores 400 years ago. But I also know it’s how I live my life. I eat right, I exercise, I give back, I love freely, I look on the bright side. To me, life is full of possibilities.

Life has certainly thrown down the gauntlet a time or two: moving to new towns every other year, a year in the hospital for major back surgery, visual impairment, bad relationships and more. I should be jaded. But I’m not. All the challenges in my life just make me more grateful for the life I have, for what I’ve been able to do in spite of them.

Returning to my beloved Seattle has brought this out even more. Not a day goes by that I don’t simply stop and appreciate this magnificent corner of the world, and quite literally, corner of our country. The air is fresh, the beauty is incomparable, the lifestyle laid back, and the new people in my life, much like the old friends left behind, bring joy and support.

Yes, I have much to be grateful for. I know I have something to do with that, but it doesn’t diminish one bit how lucky a girl I feel.  Happy birthday to me!  Here’s to another great year ahead.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

