Why I’ll continue to blog

There have been times during my blogging life that I’ve felt a little self-serving, talking about myself, my experiences, and the people I encounter. Yes, there have been days when I considered ending my blogging life. But a chance encounter the other day changed all that.

In my work as a career coach, I meet bright, talented individuals who, through no fault of their own, find themselves without a job and searching for that next great career opportunity. Such was the case on this day. The last appointment that day was with such a young woman who we’ll call Susan. Right away, I commented on her shoes, which I also have and love to wear. Once seated in my office, she said, “I’m a quilter too”. Surprised, I glanced around, wondering how she knew I am a quilter. Seeing my confusion, she said “I found your blog. I read you are a quilter. And I saw you worked at Microsoft at the same time I did. It was then I knew I could do this (coming to see a career coach), I knew this was a person I could work with”.  My first reaction, as always upon learning someone’s read my writing, was embarrassment. Then, I was remarkably touched at the impact my blog had had on Susan – to the point of tears. My meandering writings had given her the strength to trust me, to share her situation with me, to allow me to help her on her journey. The more I learned about Susan, the more I admired her. Bright, articulate and a lovely person, and yet she hadn’t, until that point, found the ability to reach out.

We had a wonderful meeting. We found more things we shared; a love of learning, the ability to take stock and assess how to move ahead. Once again, I was struck by the continuing serendipity that the people who come to my office so often share some odd connection to me. Susan has a lot on her plate, and is dealing with it all with grace and strength. For someone like this to show such faith in me, and allow my blog to inspire her to action. I mentioned to her, “You’ll probably end up in my blog”.  She was fine with that!  🙂

Yes, I’ll keep blogging now, sharing my stories, hopeful others will be touched and inspired by my simple words and stories.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’ll continue to blog

  1. Gail says:

    Good post.

  2. Andrea C says:

    Thanks Gail! I love my work. It’s all about making a difference.

Leave a Reply

