Serendipity

Have you had those moments when a person or an opportunity presents itself and the situation presented fits amazingly with something in your life? I’ve been working in a career center, working with intelligent, talented professionals who have found their positions eliminated at their former employer. The assignment of candidates to coaches is random, as is the registration of people into a class you may be teaching. On more than one occasion recently, I have found myself sitting with a client for which my particular professional history or life path is the perfect answer to their need.

Last Thursday, I taught a class on interviewing and negotiating. In my class that day was one of our candidates who had interviewed well with a potential employer and was considering his options should an offer come through. It was so amazing to receive a call from him the next day telling me he’d indeed received an offer and the class had equipped him with the tools to handle the situation. Another student was struck by the path I’ve taken in life; taking risks, following my heart, and having faith in myself to make my life better. He sensed a kinship with me and wanted to discuss this further. What followed was a great conversation where we both walked away wiser, clearer, and yet with more questions on our own paths. Or perhaps the client whose dream is to return to a different career in his field of passion and I just happen to know someone who might be instrumental in making that dream come true.

I love it when my life collides so beautifully with those who enter it. Like a lovely friend of mine who, like me, feels drawn to a different vocation in a different location than where her life has always been. We speak often of our shared dreams and values. I love to watch her blossoming as she steps out and takes chances to see her dreams become reality.

I’ve had countless encounters like this in the past few weeks as I’ve worked in the career center. I don’t know what it all means, but it’s a joy each time my particular history can inspire or help another to achieve their dreams. That’s what I do in my career as a trainer, coach, and mentor. That’s why I took the risks I’ve taken – making others’ dreams come true. Serendipity? Perhaps. But whatever you call it, whatever it is, it’s magical when it happens and I’m thrilled to play whatever small part I can.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, career, change, coaching, connecting, dreams, faith, goals, growth, job hunt, leaps of faith, Learning, mentoring, risk, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

