Life is a Patchwork Quilt

Double Wedding Band

Throughout my life, I’ve always seen patterns. Patterns of behavior, visual patterns, anything that repeats itself in some way. I also have the ability to visualize a finished product. Whether it’s a room I want to redecorate, a quilt that I’m designing in my head, and most recently, the life I want to live. I saw it, I went after it, and yes, I’m living it! It’s all coming true! I believe both of these are what drew me to quilting. As you know, a quilt begins in the mind of the quilter. Sometimes it starts with a pattern and I find the fabrics to bring my vision together. Other times, it starts with some beautiful piece of fabric that directs me to the pattern. It’s creative, it’s fun, and I absolutely love seeing it come together just as I visualized it. My life has been the same way, over and over again. I know when I need a change and that change starts to take shape in my mind. Slowly, it gets clearer and clearer until I have no other choice than to take action and make it happen.

Such is this journey I’ve been sharing with you. A quilt starts with either the fabric or pattern. Next is the cutting of the pieces that will then be sewn together to make the quilt top. For my life, the elements that are important to my life are the fabric I join together: life in Seattle, a wonderful man, fulfilling work, great friends, yes the things that make my life worth living. Once the quilt top is whole, you then layer it with a backing, the fabric on the back side of the quilt. This is usually less spectacular than the front and is really only there to hold it all together. For me, that’s my sense of self worth, and my strength to face life’s challenges. People might get glimpses of these from time to time, but they are the foundation of who I am. Next, there is the batting, the layer in the middle that is completely invisible, yet adds character and body to the quilt. That’s my faith. I rarely speak of it or share it. It’s personal, but it’s what gives me strength, comforts me, and has allowed me to face the many, many challenges in my life knowing things will work out. Finally, there are the quilting stitches. These are the stitches than ramble across the layers of the quilt binding them all together. They are visible, but often take a back seat to the glory that is the quilt top. Such is the case in my life. My quilting is my family. They have and always will be there for me. To many, my family isn’t evident. After all, I moved 3000 miles away from them so I could be in Seattle. I know people who would never make that choice. But they are there, a part of me, and I know they always will be. They give me strength and encouragement and are the first people I turn to in times of trouble.

I love this quilt I’ve made of my life. It’s beautiful. It’s unique. It’s me. It hasn’t come without cost, but who I am as a result of it is beautiful. I am who I am; better, stronger, more at ease and at peace. And the blessings that continue to roll into my life each day are beyond comprehension. Right now, I’m just sitting back, taking it all in and savoring this place, this quilt, this life that is all mine.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, amazement, coaching, dreams, faith, goals, growth, leaps of faith, Learning, passion, reflect, risk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

