Trust yourself, dream….it WILL happen

So. Here’s a story too hard to believe. If I had not lived it these past three weeks, I wouldn’t believe it myself. I’ll do my best to tell it in chronological order.

For those who’ve followed me this past year, you know I’ve been on a journey of self-discovery, risk, and living MY life. As I continued my dream of being a self-employed lover and facilitator of knowledge, every day was an exploration of ‘Can I make this happen?”, “How will I make it happen?”, or “Will it EVER happen?” Three weeks ago, recognizing I needed to have multiple tools in my consulting toolbox, I realized I should make one of my passions my vocation. I have been counseling people on career transition for years just for the pure love of helping others. I recently had the aha moment, well actually the ‘duh’ moment when I realized this should be something I should pursue professionally. That was on a Monday.

That Thursday, I had lunch with a new friend, hoping to ask her how she made self-employment while single work. Before I could utter those words, she turned to me and asked if I’d be interested in working with a firm who helped people in transition. What? Really? Did you just step out of my dream? Needless to say, the answer was a resounding “YES!” Since that day, life has been a whirlwind of things falling into place so perfectly, my head is spinning. Everything I dreamed of having: a beautiful home, a wonderful life, and now my own consulting business helping others find and achieve success, is coming true. I am black and blue from pinching myself.

In one more week, I will be making another transition myself. Over the past nine months working with a local government municipality, I have learned a lot about myself; grown, ached, and come out stronger, better, smarter. I will venture into my new adventure with the knowledge that this is what is meant to be. When things fall into place so beautifully, seemingly without effort, that’s the only conclusion I can draw.

In another week, I’ll be helping people who have lost their jobs find new meaning, new vocation and their own passion. It won’t always be easy, but it will be rewarding as I see people take a similar path that I have taken – reinventing themselves, finding their passion, living their dream. It’s what I’m meant to do. Andrea Cole Consulting is off and running again! Eager to help, eager to explore, and eager to change the world, one person at a time!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, avocation, career, change, coaching, dreams, entrepreneurs, growth, job hunt, leaps of faith, Learning, mentoring, New beginnings, passion, paying it forward, vocation, work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trust yourself, dream….it WILL happen

  1. Angie Montgomery says:

    Once again you are an inspiration to so many! Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. Andrea C says:

    Thanks Angie! I’m very happy if my stories help and inspire others. That’s what we live for, isn’t it? You do the same, believe me!

Leave a Reply

