Another bend in the road

It’s been an interesting week, another interesting week. You know that feeling when you’ve been anticipating something so long, that when it’s over you just stall for a heartbeat and wonder if you really wanted it at all, or should have wanted it?  It’s one of those weeks. I entered into a position with the goal of another position at the end, kind of a pot of gold. I went through all the right steps, sometimes with poor advice, and persevered. After all, this is what I wanted, right?  Well, maybe not. About 3-4 weeks ago, I felt in my gut that a shift had occurred. As has always been the case in my life, I can’t pinpoint the second or even what the shift was, but it was palpable. At that moment, I knew that no matter what I did, my goal would be elusive. I shared this with two of my confidants, but opted to focus on the positive. If I’ve learned nothing else in this journey of mine, it’s to put your focus on positive energy. So, I continued in my quest. When it fell through, yes there was an emotional moment, but then…..liberation. That’s the only word I can think of to describe the moment I knew I was ok. I knew it wasn’t meant to be. I KNEW there was something better coming to me. That’s my life at this point in my journey. I have faith; in myself, in fate/God/the universe. All things happen for a reason and we should just trust and wait for the right path to be revealed. I see a glimmer of that next path already. There are multiple options open to me at this moment. So, I’ll take a lot of deep breaths, pause, and wait for the inspiration. It will come.

As I sit here watching the sun hang low over Puget Sound on a crisp early Spring day, I see only opportunity. Yes, there is something coming and I can’t wait to discover what it is! 

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

