Where has the time gone?

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been three months since I last wrote. Yes, as you might imagine, life has kept me busy. In my last blog, I told you how not burning bridges led to my being called by an organization where I had previously interviewed, to come on board when the person who beat me out for the job left the position. Life hasn’t been the same since.

I’ve been on the job for three months now and having the time of my life. It’s been a lot of work, but I love building employee development programs, so it’s been all fun.

With a job under my belt, I was able to buy a home. Boy oh boy, did I score!!!! My dream when returning to Seattle was to have a home with a view. I landed a corner condo with a 180 degree view of Elliott Bay (Puget Sound) complete with island and mountain views. Nothing is better than sitting in my living room on a Saturday morning, sipping coffee and watching the world come alive. Across the street is a city park that runs along the waterfront. Bicyclists are the first out each day, followed by runners, then the dog walkers, with the tourists and casual walkers bringing up the rear. As my neighbor says, “It’s the happiest place in Seattle”. Everyone is out to enjoy the scenery, walk, exercise, and generally just enjoy the embarrassment of riches we have here. The home décor is nearly completed and it’s been a joy every step.

I’ve also made new friends and have managed to build a complete life already. It amazes me when I think about where I was one year ago. I was in despair, lonely, unhappy with barely a glimmer of the life I wanted for myself. With a lot of support, encouragement, and people who believed in me, I developed a vision of my what my life would be if only I returned to Seattle. Now, barely 9 months later, everything I envisioned has become reality! Really! I can’t believe it myself. A good dose of self belief, another bit of listening to my gut, and a huge leap of faith in the universe, and it’s all become reality! I DID IT! I MADE IT HAPPEN! I share my story from time to time, and people always respond with “You’re so brave” or “What a risk”. My response continues to be “It felt like the only choice I could make”.

So, for all of you who feel stuck, who dream of something bigger, GO FOR IT! I’m not special, I have no super powers. I’m just a person who knows what is good for me, what I want, and what I have to contribute. You have all the same elements. Find your dream, give it shape, and day by day, make it become your reality. YOU CAN DO IT.

I’ve missed blogging. Hopefully, I’ll have more time to share things with you.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in amazement, change, coaching, dreams, faith, goals, growth, leaps of faith, New beginnings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

