Honoring those who have gone before us

I recently recognized a day of remembrance for my Dad, who passed away two weeks shy of his 90th birthday three years ago on October 27, 2010. As the youngest of four, and the one who most resembled him, I was frequently referred to as “Little Charlie” or “Daddy’s Little Girl”. I accept and relish both! I miss him and think of him daily; wishing he could see my adventures, cheer me on, and know how much he influenced my life.

My childhood best friend, Leona, passed away several years ago; a loss that cuts deep as she was my oldest connection to my childhood and a great friend. I happened to meet her daughter online and have been following her as she forges a great career; now studying at Oxford for her MBA. She does this, runs marathons, and more, in honor of her mother.

We both share this drive, this need, this desire to honor the memory of a lost loved one. We strive to live up to their standards by being the best we can be. She and I share much more than that. We have both worked internationally, share a thirst for knowledge and education, and a drive to give back. It’s not enough for either of us to just “have a job”. We want to excel, to be the best we can be in order that we might make some difference in the world.

We have yet to meet face to face, but I know we will one day and it will be wonderful. We already share so much and to bring our two forces together will be quite amazing. I look forward to it with so much anticipation.

Meanwhile, she remembers her mother and I my father as great influencers in our lives. My Dad didn’t live up to his full potential, but I hope to do so in my lifetime. I have worked hard to grow, reflect and learn in order that I might share my talents with others and improve the world. It’s a big goal, but one worthy of effort.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in goals, growth, honoring, in memory, influencers, remembrance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

