How to never work another day in your life

Pretty catchy title, hunh? I’m spending a lot of time these days with a family of three eleven year-old triplets. Each day is truly a revelation with these bright, energetic, and fun kids. Last night, the question on the table was “What would you do if you could do ANYTHING and get paid for it?”. My answer came quickly and easily: “Exactly what I’m doing”. Nothing turns me on more than teaching others, helping them be the best they can be, and making a difference in the world, no matter how small.

Since earning my masters degree from George Washington University seven years ago, I honestly feel I’ve hardly ‘worked’ a day. My work is my avocation and my profession. I love what I do; to the extent that I seem to do it whenever I meet people. I’m always curious about what they want out of life, what they are doing to get there, and how can I help.

I’ve shared this story recently that will give you some idea why my work turns me on so. Two years ago, I spent two days facilitating learning with a group of individuals I’d never met before. Just two short days. Eighteen months later, I received an email from one young man who had attended. He wrote because he was leaving his organization and wanted me to know what an impact I’d had on him during those two days, what a difference I had made in his life, and how that helped him make the choice to move on. WOW! I live for those moments.

So, as we sat at the table last night, me sharing my story, I shared with each of the kids that my belief is that everyone should find out what truly turns them on and make it your life’s work. That way, you’ll never work a day in your life. You’ll simply be who you are, doing what you love, and others will find value in it. You’ll get paid to do what you love.

It took me a long time to discover my passion. I missed the signs early in life that could have led me here sooner. But I did find it. I love it. I am grateful every day that I can help people find their dreams, do their jobs better, make a difference and be proud of who they are.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in avocation, career, dreams, goals, passion, vocation, work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to never work another day in your life

  1. Gail says:

    That’s why I’ll never regret grad school or my career choice. Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life. Yeah, I’ve had a bad boss, which made going to work tough. But, the big picture has always been rosy.

Leave a Reply

