Are you running on empty, or just running?

Running. It’s a word that has come up often in my life these past few months. I was running like crazy to get things in order to move across country. Then I was literally running on gas to make the 11 day journey West, back to my beloved Seattle. Over the Summer, I was running in a lot of ways: running TO my new life, running my consulting business, running to catch planes and on and on. Now, with things in order, and my attention turned to seeking a full time position, I’m running again. Most days, it feels productive and exhilarating. I’m living my dream. I’ve taken control. I’m having a blast. But occasionally, there are moments when I feel drained, exhausted, empty, out of steam. Yes, running on empty.

It never lasts long though. I’m a fighter, I have made my choices, and I always choose to come out swinging. So, when I have those moments when I need something to re-inspire, reinvigorate, renew my drive, I always seek the same thing. Being a child of the New England seashore and living in the glorious Seattle area, I thrive on the sight, smell, and sounds of the water. Big water, Puget Sound water. Yes, I can mindlessly get in my car and drive and I will nearly always find myself by the water. That first whiff of salt air, the far horizon, the whitecaps on the water; these are the things that bring me to life. Sometimes I’ll just walk, lost in my thoughts, looking for moments to enjoy nature. Other times, I’ll sit, watch the water and all the life around me: people strolling, sailboats struggling against the wind. It’s all life to me. Being in, near, on the water restores my soul. Throughout my life, it has been the one place I can return to, pause, rest, think, and reboot my life.

So, yes, I run on empty occasionally. But I know what to do to fill up my tank. For some, it’s the mountains. Others it may be friends or family, or perhaps a place of faith. The important things to know, regardless of what you do or where you are in life, are first to recognize that you are running on fumes, and secondly, what you need to do to fill up. I hope you do both, as needed. If you don’t know, take the time and discover your restorative place. It m

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in reflect, restore, the sea, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

