Rome wasn’t Built in a Day

My office has the most amazing view. I look West from atop a suburban mountain with an unobstructed view of the city of Seattle, Puget Sound, and the Olympic Mountains off in the distance. It’s a changing landscape from morning to night, day to day. I enjoy the view immensely and it gives me a sense of freedom as I chart my course in this new life I’m building. And speaking of building, I’m reminded each day that it’s a complicated process. There is a development of homes being built just down the hill and I enjoy watching the progress as each home is started, framed in and ultimately completed. Soon, neighbors will be moving in.

So yes, it’s a reminder that things take time. For most of my life, patience is not a quality anyone would use on me. I was in a hurry to grow up, leave home, fall in love, get married, and all those familiar things we often rush to do in our youth. Oh how we’d changes things if we could. Through the long process of self examination last year that brought me back to Seattle, I practiced patience. It wasn’t easy. I really wanted to make things move faster. But along with patience, I learned trust and faith. Trust in my abilities to take control of my life and live the life I chose. Faith that the right opportunities would present themselves if I put forth the effort and made myself available at the right place and time.

And, yes, it paid off. I made the move back to where I belong, I’ve started re-building my life here. The foundation is laid, the framing has started, and soon, the roof will go on and I’ll have completed the transition. But, as my mother always asks, how soon will that happen? My response to her is always, “When it happens.”. Yes! I’ve finally learned to do the work, be patient and ready, and trust that ‘IT’ will happen when it’s time. Yes, I’m eager to be fully employed. Yes, I’m eager to buy a new house and settle in to my own little nest. And Yes, I’m ready to get on with life. But I hold myself back and remember that even on days when I feel I’ve made no progress, I have. I’ve taken control of my life. I’m where I want to be. I’ve got great skills that will find their way to the right organization that can use them. And yes, I will get that life and enjoy every single blessed minute of it. I hope to find another outlet for this lesson. As I’ve said before, I love working with young people and often find myself in a situation where I can offer advise – if asked. Frequently these days, that advise is “Be patient. Keep working at it and it WILL happen. Trust the process.” No easy lesson, as I can attest, but one we should all learn.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in change, development, faith, goals, growth, patience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

