In search of the future

It’s been a very busy few weeks. I returned to New England for a long weekend last week. I attended a joyous wedding and had a chance to revisit some childhood memories, my cousin, my niece, and time alone to simply enjoy my New England heritage. Since flying back to Seattle, life has been anything was alone or reflective. It’s been a busy time with visiting family, consultative meetings and job hunting. The job hunt alone can be a full time occupation.

Ah yes, the job hunt. I’ve spent the first few months back in Seattle laying down roots, getting the consulting side of my career up and running and falling into the rhythm of life in the Pacific Northwest. It’s been productive and busy. I’ve reconnected with great friends, made some new ones, and had a wonderful time of it all. Now, with the settling in process nearly complete, it’s time to look ahead to the future, my future. The first step in this next phase is to find a new job. I miss the day to day rhythm of going to work, partnering with colleagues, and most importantly, helping people achieve their dreams by learning and growing to their greatest abilities. Yes, that email, or phone call, or encounter, when someone you’ve taught or coached lets you know you’ve helped them and made a difference in their life.

Fortunately, the learning and development profession is receiving more interest and companies are looking favorably on the value we add to their corporate goals. We start with reviewing corporate mission and vision. Where is it you want to be? What is it you want to be? What and who do you need to get there? Who do you have on staff now and what development do they need to ensure you achieve your goals? Who do you need to bring on board to fill the talent gaps in your organization? We help you determine that, source it, and find the right people to hire to fill that need. It’s a lot of work, but fun and rewarding at the same time. I always say I haven’t worked a day since becoming a learning and development professional. It’s not that I don’t work hard. It’s simply that I love the work and it’s who I am. I’ve met some wonderful young people here who have asked me to be their mentor. I gladly say yes and enjoy the time we spend working on their development and their future.

601952_10200224913601263_1469952989_n

I’m eager to share my talents with an organization with the same vision of being the best and ensuring their employees are empowered to be their best, to grow, and to realize their own dreams while helping the organization do the same. So the job hunt continues and I hope to soon be part of a dynamic team of professionals working together toward greatness.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in career, coaching, development, goals, job hunt, Learning, mentoring. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In search of the future

  1. Alex says:

    Cool article 🙂 Have you considered starting your own consulting organization? You could start out as one woman show with a few clients and go from there!

    • Andrea C says:

      Hi Alex, Thanks for the comment. Yes, I already have a consulting business that keeps me occupied to some extent. However, as a single girl with no other means of support, it’s not possible to jump right in and expect it to bear a full time income. Plus, I do miss working with others as one does in a ‘regular’ job. I plan to retire one day from the full time gig and consult, but that’s a ways away.

Leave a Reply

