Anticipation and New Beginnings

Summer is at an end, Fall is creeping in, the weather is getting slightly cooler here in the Pacific Northwest, and the kids have gone back to school. Yes, the season is changing, and time is marching on. This morning, I had the pleasure of seeing my friend’s 11 year old triplets head off to their first day of Middle School. So full of excitement and anticipation of this new experience.

I remember this same anticipation at the start of every school year. Supplies purchased, new clothes at the ready, eagerness at seeing our friends. Life was simple, or so it seems now. I still feel a sense of excitement when embarking on a new adventure, or awaiting a new season. Well, honestly, all except Winter. What is it about new starts that generate this emotion? I don’t know the psychological reasons behind it, but I know I’ve been feeling a lot of it this year as I’ve been on this cross-country journey.

With more anticipation than fear, I began this journey that so many of you have been on with me since May. I’ve had a lot of firsts since embarking, and continue to have firsts as time marches on. Seemingly every day brings a new adventure to get excited about. I think it’s this positive attitude that has made the transition so successful. I’ve never doubted my decision, I’ve never doubted things would work out, I’ve never doubted that life will be better living where I am my happiest, my best me, and where my soul has pulled me back to.

I wish everyone could live life with this forward-thinking approach. All too often, we get sucked into regretting the past, dreading the future, wishing things were different. Well, that’s all pretty negative and self-defeating. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had many responses to my blog about how people admire my strength, or my willingness to take on a challenge. Well, I am no superhero. I’m just a person who believes we have one trip around this crazy thing called life and it’s up to each of us to make it the best it can be. You’re not happy in your job? Leave! You’re in a situation that you wish you were out of? Get out! Find support, figure out how you can change your lot in life. Do whatever you have to do to make a change in your life. Nobody is going to come and sweep you up and make things better. It all starts with you. Believe in yourself. You CAN do it. Then really KNOW yourself: the good and bad. See something you don’t like? Work hard to improve it. Change. Grow. Evolve. Standing still gets you nowhere. Sure, it’s hard sometimes, but do it. You’ll be surprised at what you achieve and where you end up. Get excited about the future, then make it what you want.

Yes, make your new beginnings and meet them head on with ANTICIPATION!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, anticipation, change, growth, New beginnings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

