Take a moment and breathe

The past three months have been a tumultuous time in my life. I’m a little older, a lot wiser, and seemingly in constant motion. This morning, I decided to pause before jumping into the day to take stock of where I am, what I’ve accomplished, and what direction I’m heading. In other words, I’m pausing a moment to breathe and reflect. Sadly, this is something few of us bother, or think we have time, to do.

But what happens when we are on a path and don’t take a moment to breathe? The old adage, ‘Stop and smell the roses’ still applies. When we rush from one day to the next, one event to another, and simply rush, how much do we think about our path, accomplishments, or direction? I would venture to say very little. It’s almost as though we stay in motion to avoid taking stock. But where do we get to? What have we accomplished? How many times have you dozed on public transportation and missed your stop? It happened to me once or twice while living in DC and taking metro. Sure, I went further, but I had to backtrack because I’d gone to far and missed the mark. This applies in life and work as well.

We’ve heard it countless times. Famously rich and successful people reach the end of their lives and regret not taking more time for their spouse, their children, their parents. They were so intent on ‘SUCCESS’ that they didn’t reflect on what they were sacrificing for that success.

So yes, every once in a while, simply stop and breathe. Where are you? Is it where you want to be? What have you accomplished? Celebrate it! What direction are you headed? Is it leading you in the right direction? Sometimes, we need to make minor adjustments to keep forward momentum. I’m experiencing that right now. I’ve been pushing, pushing, pushing to an end, and through this reflection, have realized I have some adjustments to make in my path. And it’s fine. Better small adjustments along the way, than to reach the wrong destination, or worse yet, fail completely.

Know your dreams. Have the faith to go for them. But stop and reflect from time to time, ready to recalibrate.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in change, dreams, goals, Learning, patience, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

