Who do you have on your team?

Hillary Clinton said it takes a village. I agree, and as I hear from so many of you who are following my journey, I realize I’ve not really been doing this alone. I have a team of people supporting, encouraging, and yes, challenging me as need be. From the friend of many years who has opened her home to me, to the friend back in DC who literally checks in with me every day, to my mentor who so joyously shares my passion, to my family who understood that my moving away from them was the best thing for me, I have not been on this journey alone.

Thinking about this has caused me do some reflection on who is in my life. How is it that I am surrounded by so many good, supportive, and honest friends? It’s really no mystery. Above all else, I value good character in my friends. I have had some painful moments in my past when I had to let someone leave my life because they were more destructive than supportive. I try to be the best friend to my friends in need, but sometimes a friendship is simply destructive. I love to entertain and nothing makes me happier than to bring my friends from the various walks of my life, together and see how they all blend and interact so well. I guess that makes sense since the common denominator is me and my choice to have them in my life.

So, what’s my gift for you today? It’s this. Look at who you have in your life. Are they people who bring good things into your life or are they destructive? Sure, we can’t just walk away from everyone. We need to be the good, supportive friend to others. But we should always be working to build a positive support group in our lives. If you were to really need good, solid, honest support with a life-changing decision, would you go to them for advise? Would they support you in your dreams? If not, maybe they aren’t the right people for your team. I believe that everyone has the capacity to fulfill their dreams so we should all have people on our team who will help us get there, whether it’s moral support, good honest feedback, or just an ‘atta girl’ now and then.

I continue to be amazed by the people who reach out to me, let me know they’ve been following, and have been inspired by my simple words. I don’t know yet where my journey is taking me, but I do know it’s MY journey, I’m having the time of my life, and I could never live not knowing if I could do it.

I wish you all great dreams, much success following them, and a great team behind you!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

