Too Much of a Good Thing?

Since moving back to Seattle in late May, we’ve experienced an unusual spell of warm, sunny weather. In fact, there was no measurable rain in July! Very odd for the Pacific Northwest. As unusual as it was however, people relished the good weather. After all, this is the land of outdoor activities: hiking, bicycling, boating and such. I have to confess that I enjoyed it too and made the most of it. On the flip side, lawns suffered, plants fell to heat stress, and most people, living without air conditioning, had many uncomfortable nights.

So, have we had too much of a good thing? The rain has returned this week, and while it seems unusual, it’s refreshing. The skies are grey, the mountains are no longer visible, the temperatures have dropped a bit and we don’t need to water our lawns. If it continues, the Pacific Northwest will be green again in no time.

Thinking about this led me to think about life and learning. If everything comes easy in life, do you ever learn to work hard? If you have never failed at anything, have you learned to overcome difficulties? I believe everything of value I’ve learned in my life was born out of things that went wrong. Speaking carelessly taught me to be more thoughtful before speaking. Making a careless mistake by rushing, taught me to take my time and get it right the first time. Yes, I’ve learned through my mistakes. Had I never made mistakes, spoken out of turn, or failed, would I have reflected on the experience and grown?

Yes, I believe learning comes from trying, failing, reflecting and changing your behavior. So, take those chances. Don’t be afraid to fail. If you don’t fail, great. But when you do, take the opportunity presented to look at the situation, reassess it, and learn to do things differently next time.

So, yes, we’ve had a month of sunshine, and I’ve learned I really do love the grey, rainy days as much as the sunny ones. The rain brings the natural beauty this corner of the world is known for and what drew me back.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in development, education, failure, Learning, mistakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

