Taking leaps of faith

One year ago, I was reeling from an unexpected run of bad things happening in my life. Absolutely reeling. If someone had told me then where I’d be today, I’d have laughed, scoffed, doubted, rebuffed. No, one year ago, I could not envision the life I have now. Many of you have been with me on this journey, so I apologize for any repetition, but I have to go back in time a bit here.

So, there I was, reeling from all this negativity in my life, feeling stuck, frozen where I was. Luckily, I had a strong support network, some smart and gifted people, and I LISTENED to them! I got the energy to start making a big change possible. Little by little, day by day, I kept moving ahead. Some days I couldn’t see the progress I was making, but my support network did and pointed it out to me.

Six months in, I was still in pretty much the same boat, working a job I loved, but with little growth opportunity and consulting on the side on action learning and leadership development, which are my passions. I started to reason and look ahead. Moving back to Seattle had always been a long term dream of mine, but a scary one and one I wasn’t sure I was able to achieve. So, I continued taking my baby steps, getting a wee bit closer and closer, but still stuck. Still frozen. Still holding that dream out ahead of me.

Eventually, I reached the point where doing nothing was more painful than taking action. And take action I did! A complete and utter leap of faith. But a funny thing happened. As soon as I made the decision to move to Seattle and fulfill my dream, everything, and yes, EVERYTHING, fell into place.

A friend offered me temporary housing with her family. My house sold in two days. Several friends offered to make the cross-country journey with me. I even had my first bonafide client before I left town. Yes, I took a huge leap of faith that very quickly became my only choice and one that I knew with all certainty, was the right one.

That was only 3 months ago. It’s amazing to see all that has happened. I worried that I would not be able to transfer my work to a new region of the country, I’m working, and I’m as busy as can be. I have new friends, a growing network, and each day I wake up excited to see what the day will bring. The most surprising thing is that this has all rolled out so smoothly, there is no stress and no worry. I simply have faith that this was the right choice at the right time.

So, I sit here today, grateful for those willing to push me, guide me, and help me make what seemed a very difficult decision. Three months! I feel like a different person today. I am a different person! A very happy, complete, independent, successful woman having the time of her life doing work that is important to her and helps others grow. I couldn’t ask for more.

As has become my custom, I’ll end with a question for you, and I’d love to hear back on your results. What leap of faith is calling you? Go ahead, do it. Step out of your comfort zone, make a choice for YOU, and watch what happens. If it’s meant to be and you’ve done the work to lay the way, things will quite literally fall into place. So, go on. Do it! And share your successes with me.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in change, development, dreams, faith, goals, independence, leaps of faith, Learning, New beginnings, risk, Seattle, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking leaps of faith

  1. Angie Montgomery says:

    Wow! You are so inspirational. You have no idea. Wonderful things come to those who go out and seek it. I am beyond happy to hear how the choices you made along the way have added so much happiness to your life.

Leave a Reply

