Making a difference and loving it!

Some days I think I’m the luckiest girl in the world. I have found work that is not only satisfying, exemplifies who I am, and makes a difference in both organizations and the people who work there. The bulk of my work recently has revolved around action learning. Several years ago, I earned my certification as an action learning coach under the World Institute for Action Learning (WIAL).

I won’t go into the details of action learning. You can read all about it on the WIAL website (www.wial.org or http://www.wial-usa.org). What I will share is that it is a dynamic processes that builds leadership skills, improves team dynamics, creates learning organization and changes lives by facilitating learning at the individual, team, and organizational levels. I am amazed with some of the results that have occurred.

Because of its effectiveness in the above mentioned areas, action learning is used around the world in leadership development programs. I’ve worked with Microsoft and Goodwill to facilitate action learning in their development programs. Sometimes I get to see the results of this work and it’s remarkable and gratifying. I also get to teach action learning on behalf of WIAL, certifying others to earn their action learning coach status. Recently, I’ve taught a group of individuals in Washington, DC and another group of employees at the Boeing Company, where they have invested in having employees certified to become coaches.

With each group I work with, I walk away once again in awe of the process and the results it delivers. The work I do is leadership development and this can encompass instructional design, management development, program management as well. However, the greatest results and the most impactful learning moments never fail to be realized in my work with action learning. It’s no wonder it’s becoming the center point of my work.

So, yes, I’m lucky. I’ve discovered work that defines who I am, I’m able to impart knowledge and skill upon others, build strong leaders, and see organizations become more effective as a result. I’d say that’s a pretty great reason to wake up and go to work every day!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in action learning, adult learning, development, leadership, Learning, teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

