What amazes you?

I look for it whenever I’m out and about. Sometimes it’s not visible, but I know it’s there. I’ve been looking at it for more than 30 years and yet, it still takes my breath away and amazes me every single time I see it. What is this fascinating thing you may ask. Well, it’s Mount Rainier, the iconic symbol of the Pacific Northwest. I fell in love with the mountain the first time I saw it. That moment is burned into my memory and I am sure I will never forget. Driving south on Route 5 one clear sunny day, I was coming around the bend around a hill in Seattle and BAM!, there it was in all its snow-covered glory shimmering above everything. I quite literally almost ran off the road. It had that great an impact on me.

seattle

I was lucky to own a house with a Lake Washington and ‘mountain view’ as we say here. Each day, one of the first things I would do is to go to the window to see if the ‘mountain was out’. Some days, the mountain was clearly visible. Others, it appeared to be floating in air above the clouds. At times, it appeared to be cut off halfway up, and my favorite – at times the air looked clear and yet there was so much moisture in the air, that the mountain simply appeared to have been taken away.

Now, you’d think after all these years, I’d take it for granted. But I don’t. On my trip west, driving back to Seattle, I kept peering ahead for my first sight of the mountain. Sadly, it was obscured by thick clouds, but a week later, crossing the I-90 bridge, I happened to look off to the south and THERE IT WAS! Still taking my breath away and causing me to want to simply stop and admire it.

Each time I see Mount Rainier it has the same affect. It never fails to amaze me. And honestly, I’m amazed at my continued fascination. But the beauty of nature is important to me. It’s something I was raised with and something I relish. So being constantly and perpetually amazed by a mountain? Well, sure. What amazes you? What has captured your attention and your soul so deeply that you, too, have a perpetual sense of amazement? I hope you all take the time to ponder this, discover your Mt Rainier and relish every time you see it. Life passes too quickly and the old adage still rings true. “Stop and smell the roses”. And I would add, “be amazed”.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in amazement, fascination, Mount Rainier, nature, Seattle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

