Independence Day 2013

american-flagI normally don’t give much thought to the 4th of July in terms of its significance beyond a passing remembrance. This year, something’s different and I’ve been wondering just what that is.

First, I have proclaimed my independence in a truly significant way. I’ve moved 3000 miles from family to live my life where I will be happiest. And what a difference! I wake every day completely in control of my life, look out the window at the mountains, the water, and the eagles flying above and am grateful I had the strength to make this dream come true.

Thanks to the young people that I’m surrounded by with this move, I’m seeing life in a new way, through the fresh, innocent and wise eyes of children. It’s refreshing and invigorating. They think about our nation’s independence, they revel in fireworks and decorations and watermelon. Things I’d lost the magic of.

This year, as we watch the fireworks, eat far too much food and spend the whole day in the sun, I know I’ll see the day in a new light. I’ll be grateful for those men and women who fought to make this country that now allows me to proclaim my independence and live my life, my way!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, dreams, education, goals, independence, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

