Where are those moments of inspiration?

Saturday morning near Washington, DC.  My ‘other’ Washington since returning to Seattle. It’s a beautiful, relatively cool Saturday for DC on June 22. I’m just waking up and having my first quiet moment of reflection all week. Is that why I haven’t blogged? No time to reflect? That’s what I’m wondering today. Is it merely that lack of time, or is it that being here, in what, in my opinion, is a soul-less city devoid of community, connections and caring, leaves me uninspired?

When I’m in Seattle, whether I’m sitting quietly, driving, or doing the most mundane activities, I have moments of pure inspiration that drive me to my laptop to write my blog. That hasn’t happened once during the past week that I’ve been back in the DC area. Sure, I’ve been busy, but I’ve been driving, taking metro, having moments of stillness that one would think would allow for those moments of inspiration.

I believe it’s symptomatic of the fact that this is not the city for me. I don’t feel inspired here. Now, there are many things I do enjoy about being back. I’ve had a lovely week staying with my Mom and just being with her. I’ve had some great time reconnecting with good friends. I’ve had a stellar week of work teaching action learning, and helping people earn their action learning coach certification. But those gifts, those moments of pure thought and inspiration don’t happen for me here. They do for others I hope. After all, this is the seat of government so one would hope our leaders are inspired. But not me.

I return to Seattle today and I’m eager to do so. DC is no longer my home. I wonder if it ever really was. I’m wandering back in my mind to an earlier post when I asked ‘Where is your Seattle?”. My wish for everyone is that you discover your answer to that question. Wouldn’t life be grand if everyone could identify that place where they are happiest and at their best? If we could all live in our Seattle? That’s what I would love to see. So, as I return to ‘my Seattle’, I encourage each of you to find yours and do whatever it takes to get yourself there. It’s worth whatever you have to give up. Trust me. I’m living proof. Be bold. Take risks. Do it! You will not regret it.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

