A journey worth traveling requires tending

It’s been almost a week since my last blog. That tells me it’s been a busy one. Yes, I’ve settled in and life is moving along. After the excitement of the road, and the initial excitement about arriving back in my beloved Seattle, I’ve reached a period of more mundane moments. This week I went about the tasks of opening new bank accounts, transferring insurance; you know, all those necessities of life that must be dealt with. So, not much to write home (or blog) about. However, as I look back over the past several days and those mundane tasks, I remember why I’m doing them. I’m living my dream!

Yes, it’s easy to forget the bigger picture when you’re in the weeds. It’s important to stop, step back, and reflect on WHY you’re doing some of those things you’d rather not do. We all have them. Some, like me, are gardeners. We love to plant our seeds and young plants in the Spring and check on their progress each day, waiting for the moment when we spy that first beautiful blossom! But before all the blooming, we have to add nutrients to the soil, remove the weeds, to ensure the soil is ready for what comes later. It’s not sexy or exciting, and shows no rewards in the short run. But is it necessary? You bet. So, this week has been my soil amending week. There have been some highlights, some new work has come in and life is generally rolling in the right direction. Most of all, I’m happy and I’m where I want to be. So, don’t forget to tend to your soil, prepare for what’s ahead. The prep work will help you reap a greater reward, no matter what it is.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, development, goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

