Rejection, learn to take and accept it

I was reminded yesterday of the lesson of rejection. A very bright and lovely relative is in search of a new job. She is facing what most of us face in that process: rejection, and plenty of it. It has her down, I’m sure doubting her skills and abilities, and wondering “Why me?” I know this feeling all too well. For quite some time, I had been seeking a new position. I had my heart set on returning to Seattle, and thought if only I could secure a job here, the move would be not only possible, but easier, less scary, and such. I applied for job after job, sometimes getting calls, sometimes actual interviews. But none resulted in a position. I was despondent. I started to lose faith in myself. I started to think nothing would ever change and nobody would ever hire me. The few who knew I was going through this kept saying, “Don’t worry, the right thing hasn’t come along.” Part of me agreed, but most of me thought it was nonsense. I just needed to work harder, interview better, do a better job of selling myself and the ‘right thing’ would come along.

It was a miserable time. I felt in limbo, waiting for that ‘right thing’ to come along. Each time I got close, my hopes soared, only to be dashed to shreds with the next rejection email. Yes, the job hunt is a long and difficult process, wrought with rejection. But, it forced me, yes FORCED me, to learn something that had eluded me for most of my life: patience! Now, I have never been called a patient person. I move quickly, act quickly, and like quick results. Applying, interviewing, and being rejected time after time caused me to find a new way of looking at not only the process, but me. A good friend who was instrumental in where I am today, kept telling me, “You’re moving forward. You’re taking control. It WILL pay off.” There were days I wanted to scream back, but I didn’t. I learned to be patient and trust the process. I also started to have faith that the ‘right thing’ would indeed present itself, not out of thin air, but as a result of my constant working and plodding along.

And the ‘right thing’ did indeed present itself! It is in no way, shape, or form of what I expected it to look like, but it is the right thing for me and I am so grateful for the lesson of patience and the people who kept supporting me through the ups and downs. It’s brought me to this wonderful place where I’m where I want to be, happy, with people I love being around and building the future I want!

IMGP2782

So, to my young friend and all the others out there feeling rejected, dejected and misused, keep up the fight. Keep trying. Keep moving forward. Your ‘right thing’ will come in time, when you are ready to accept it. Trust me. Trust the process. And….best of luck on your journey!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, change, faith, goals, Learning, patience, rejection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rejection, learn to take and accept it

  1. joedalio says:

    Thanks for the excellent reminder! Many of the great things I have in life are because I was rejected for something else. And what I have now is much better than what I would have had before. It’s tough at first, but rejection is often good. God works EVERYTHING out for our good : )

    • Andrea C says:

      Thanks for the comment Joe. It is true, isn’t it? Out of rejection comes success, just like our greatest learning comes from our mistakes.

Leave a Reply

