What are YOU doing the rest of your life?

I’ve been on my journey for two months now. When I think of all that has occurred, my head spins. I went from owning a house and living in DC to selling my house, taking a cross-country trip, moving to Seattle, and settling in to a new life and work here. Along the way, I’ve heard countless people tell me they are inspired, or envious, or wish they could do the same.

Yes, it seems many people are staying in or stuck in jobs that really don’t inspire them much anymore. I don’t think I’m any braver, or any more of a risk taker than anyone else. I have always considered myself rather risk averse. So what is it that inspired me to take this bold step? I’ve asked myself this question numerous time over the past couple of months.

I think it all comes from my desire to make the very most of this one life I’m given. It feels selfish to me. If I only have this one trip around, I want to make the most of it. I want to be the happiest me I can be. I want to help others, give back, and know that I have made a difference. The place I was at two months ago never would allow me to be all of these. Yes, I HAD to make a change, and a big one. So, was it risky? Perhaps. But to me, it felt more risky to do nothing; to stay where I was, ‘stuck’ in a life that no longer filled me with wonder and delight.

So, I ask you. Are you living the life you want? Are you inspired by living your life every day? Do you yearn for more? Well, I challenge you. Be a risk taker and live the life YOU want. What are you doing the rest of your life?

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, change, development, Learning, New beginnings, risk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

