Settling in, not Settling for

I believe we all have this life to live and we should live it to the fullest. We need to fully know ourselves, take chances, and do whatever it takes to reach our full potential. When I began this journey 2 months ago, I knew that settling for living in a city where I would never find happiness was a sacrifice I was not willing to make. I would never be able to reach my full potential unless I was happy and surrounded by the life that suits me best. That realization drove my decision, and ultimately me, back to Seattle.

I’ve been here a week now, showing my friend this beautiful city and rediscovering it for myself. It’s been wonderful to reconnect and reaffirm my choice. Despite the rain that is all too frequent here, my heart still soars at the beauty, the slower pace of life, the friendliness of the people, and yes, the knowledge that whether the ‘mountain is out’ or not, it is there. The anticipation of seeing it is enough for me. I know that once it reveals itself, it’s worth the wait.

IMGP2776 (2)

My friend has left. I’m here, ready to settle in, buckle down, and get on with the task of rebuilding my life here. I’m blessed to have wonderful friends here who will be with me every step of the way. No, I will not settle for a life that is less. I will enjoy this Sunday, a day to begin the task of settling in and relish every step.

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in achievement, change, development, faith, Learning, New beginnings, risk. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Settling in, not Settling for

  1. Gail says:

    Good luck to you. And more power to you. I just don’t “get” how a city can make you happy. I’m a New Englander and can’t imagine life elsewhere. Colorado? (2 grad school years there) Would love to go visit again but the people weren’t my kind of people. Florida (6 months there). Fuggeddaboutit. South of the Mason-Dixon Line doesn’t suit me weather-wise or opinion-wise. Hate hot weather. Only have to put up with it for a short time here. And wildlife is awesome. Unless it goes after your cat. 🙂 I am a liberal and proud of it. Comfortable here. We’re all one big group on the Cape: organic, politically passionate (though we may disagree sometimes), and happily pursuing whatever. Just sayin’.

  2. Gail says:

    I’m just being a bi -otch.

    • Andrea C says:

      Hey, everyone’s entitled to their own place. Mine’s here. Not for everyone, but I wouldn’t want it to be. After living all over the country, and abroad, there is simply no place I’d rather be than here. If yours is the Cape, that’s great. I love it there too…just can’t do the winters.

  3. Beth Dahl says:

    Welcome back to the beautiful Pacific Northwest! And I am inspired by your passion to live “your” dream. That’s what it should be about and if the location inspires you to do just that, then let it. Best wishes always!

Leave a Reply

