Past the Continental Divide

IMGP2719

When planning for my move West, I thought driving would make for a better transition than a five hour plane ride. I was so right! As I write this, we are nine days into our eleven day trip. I feel a significant shift from looking behind at my life before the trip and ahead to my life afterward. We crossed the Continental Divide yesterday, and again today as we drove through Yellowstone. The Continental Divide in the US is the place where the waters change from running East toward the Atlantic to running West toward the Pacific.

I feel as though it represents, for me, the passage between my old life, based on the East coast, and my new life, based on the West coast.

This trip has provided so much! A badly needed vacation. A chance to experience the beauty of this country. A chance to learn more about our history. And, mostly, a way to gracefully transition into the life that awaits me in Seattle.

It hasn’t always been easy. Traveling with a cat presents challenges such as finding pet friendly hotels, keeping him somewhere safe while I go sightseeing and easing his fears. There has been a need for compromise. While my main mission is to reach Seattle, my friend’s was to have a great vacation and see parts of the country she may never see again. With good planning, flexibility, and a positive spirit, we’ve come through it. I feel more confident about my plans, my friend had a great vacation, we got closer, and Romeo has probably become less of a wimp.

Yes, it’s been a great choice, a learning experience, and a time of growth. What more could one ask? I’ve passed my Continental Divide!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in development, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

