Where’s your Seattle?

seattle and gullLeaving is never easy. We stay at jobs too long. We stay in relationships too long. We stay stuck in bad places too long. If I’ve learned nothing more in the past few years, I’ve learned to leave when you recognize the signs. I’ve chosen to leave both a job and a city, so my goodbyes are particularly heartwrenching. Not only am I leaving my job and colleagues, but I’m moving away from friends, neighbors, and even family. Through it all, I’ve been reassured by knowing that I’m going to the one place on Earth where I am the best me, the happiest me; where as I’ve said before, my soul soars. Several times recently, people have said to me “I need to find my Seattle.” And don’t we all? You would think everyone has that one place where they dream of living and perhaps spending the rest of their days. Surprisingly though, I’m discovering that isn’t the case. There are people who haven’t yet made that discovery.

I’ve lived many places and traveled even more. I’ve also been a dreamer with an active imagination. While I may have considered these detriments in the past, I’m feeling grateful for them right now. You see, they’ve allowed me to dream of the places I love, to dream of returning to Seattle, to dream of living a life other than the one I’m living. Through a lot of personal reflection and growth, I’ve arrived at the place where returning to Seattle is the only choice I see for myself. While people see it as brave, adventurous, and risky, I see it simply as self-preservation.

So, where is your Seattle?

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

