Anticipation, it’s keepin’ me waitin’…Carly Simon

I don’t know what I expected to feel today, the first day of my adventure. Woke without an alarm clock, as usual, at 7:00 am, as usual. No big ‘Wow, I feel different” feeling. There’s still so much to do before the adventure begins: pack, shed unwanted furniture….no rest for the wicked. I pause from time to time to acknowledge the step I’m taking and to relish my newfound freedom. It’s exhilarating and scary at the same time. I think I must be numb.

Today was a day of preparation. Time was spent packing for the move and designing my company’s new website. Stay tuned for updates on that front! Mom thinks I shouldn’t be shedding so much, but I feel it liberating. This is the start of a new life, so why bring along so many vestiges of the past? I’m more than content to leave as much of this past behind me, so when the time comes, I’ll begin anew.

The house is getting empty as piece by piece, the furniture finds its way to new homes, the clothes and quilting supplies get packed away, and poor Romeo keeps wondering what’s happening. Romeo. He’s in training for the road trip. He’s got a lovely purple harness that goes nicely with his orange tabby color. Really striking. He wears it for a few hours each night, and is becoming quite used to it. Next week, we’ll begin leash training to ensure he’s comfortable walking on a leash. I leash-trained him as a kitten, so I’m confident he’ll relearn it. He’s going to have the adventure of a kitty 9-life.

Checked out some of our stops today, but not sharing those just yet. You’ll just have to be patient. But, rest assured, there will be beauty and hiking involved!

That’s it for today!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in New beginnings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

