And so we begin!

One of my traveling companions

One of my traveling companions

One of my traveling companions

One of my traveling companions

Here I sit, just hours after leaving my work at Goodwill. In a surreal place between my old life and new. So, how did I get here? What events have brought me to this pivotal moment? Some have called me inspirational. Some have called me brave. I wonder if I’m just crazy. Why would a woman give up a meaningful job she excels at to move 2600 miles away and begin again in a new town? Well, there’s probably some background information that will help you understand.

I’m a New England kid, descended from 400 years of New England settlers. My ancestors, in search of something better, left England for a new life. I think I’ve been channeling them all my life. I lived in 7 houses by the age of 10, and attended 7 schools by the same age. Change has been constant in my life. I left Massachusetts to follow love to Florida. After 7 years in Florida, I transferred to Seattle in 1983; a city where I didn’t know a single person. I instantly fell in love with the city, despite the constant drizzle. There was just something about the city, the landscape, the majestic mountains, clear waters, eagles soaring, whales cavorting, and the pace of life that drew me. I still can’t explain the pull it has on me. The best way I can describe it is to share what I always feel when I’m there. My soul soars. I’m happy. I feel at peace and right with the world.

While in Seattle, I was married, raised two wonderful step-children, earned my accounting degree from the University of Washington, worked for Microsoft and ultimately divorced. So, with all that was good, why did I leave? Following my divorce, I felt a need to reconnect with family, and be near one of my nieces as she was growing. My aunts were an important part of my childhood and I wanted to be that for her. So, once again, my ancestors’ seafaring, wandering genes surfaced and guided me back East. I left my job at Microsoft, pulled up roots and moved 2600 miles East. I’d missed the chance with my older niece, and didn’t want to miss out again. I came to Maryland and settled in for 15 years. But it was never enough. I have always felt like a fish out of water here. It’s hard to explain to those who haven’t lived in the West. The lack of community, the lack of majestic views, fresh air, and a laid back approach to life where relationships come before career. Where the first question asked upon meeting someone is not “What do you do?”. I still love to answer that question with something like “Hike” or “Quilt” and sit back and watch the confused looks on the DC types. With each returning visit to Seattle, it became clear that life in Seattle suited me and fulfilled me in a way DC never will. Following a year of reflection, I arrived at a place where I had to choose between my job and Seattle (me). I chose me. For the first time in my life, I’m making a totally selfish decision. I’m leaving my mother, sister, friends, and job. Chucking it all to fulfil my dream of living in Seattle once again – and forever.

So, come along with me. On May 14th, I’ll be departing DC on a 12 day journey West. My friend Theresa is joining me, and my cat Romeo, on a cross country adventure. We have a great itinerary planned exploring some of the nation’s most spectacular sights. I won’t tell you what we’re going to see just yet. Follow along and you’ll see, discovering each magnificent sight as we do. I can’t wait to get started, but there is work to do before we can leave. Stay tuned. It’ll be fun!

About Andrea Cole

I am living the good life in beautiful Seattle, WA as a leadership development consultant and career development coach, helping individuals grow their careers, seek new ones, or land new jobs at www.colecoach.com
This entry was posted in New beginnings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And so we begin!

  1. padeppe says:

    Reblogged this on padeppe's Blog and commented:
    I have four that rescues that could ask the same question.

Leave a Reply

